top of page

From the Floor Up: On The Set of Little Shop of Horrors

I visit the Fire Hall a couple of times a week usually, to check in and just for odds and ends. For the past few weeks, every time I step into the theatre, there's people in the auditorium, and they're seriously breaking a sweat. What did I expect? A beautiful set would just suddenly appear and be ready for opening night? I have to be honest, I'm not extremely familiar with musical theatre, plays, or drama in general. If that's true for me, it's likely true for a lot of you! The set is coming together already, and opening night is in just over a week. Aren't you curious about the process?

All I have is what I could notice from an outsider's perspective. So without further ado, from the window to the wall__ wait.. behind the scenes: On set of Little Shop of Horrors.

April 19th, 2017

The building begins. C.J. Leigh designed the set to be built, and Steve Forman and Joe Wack are the professional carpenters who are bringing it to life. I got a message this day saying Steve was "swearing at the ceiling". All I can imagine is that this was already going to be a long process. Anyway— the picture here is what I'm considering the "before" photo. At this point, it's pretty much a naked set. A starry night, but a naked set. Still not exactly sure what the growth coming from the floor is for...

April 21st, 2017

This update also doubles as a "behind of scenes" of Little Shop rehearsal... Chris Feldmann (Seymour) on the right! Anyway, as you can see, there is now a ladder. To me it says progress. Moving on.

April 24th, 2017

NOW we're really getting started. This carousel-looking contraption is what has sprouted from the "growth" I described in Day 1.

May 1st, 2017

Audrey II is in the building, people. And the walls are up!

I can only imagine how things are going to progress from here. Seeing the process of the set being built makes me that much more excited to see the show. One week until opening night!

bottom of page